PDA

View Full Version : How I destroyed my life

james2013
18-12-13, 21:31
I've always been a nervous person but until recently I've kept it under control. I tend to bite the skin at the side of my nails when I'm nervous, often to the point of bleeding.

I'm a teacher by trade. I worked in the sixth form sector and I was promoted to head of department within three years. Over five years I significantly improved results and gained a very good reputation. Then the cuts came. Management was restructured and I was faced with the choice of applying for a job overseeing three different departments, one of which I had no knowledge of at all or stepping back down to teacher level with the sure knowledge that one of my team would be made redundant as a result.

I couldn't live with that possibility so along with applying for a couple of other jobs I applied for the new role. I didn't get the other jobs but I did get the new role. So for a year I tried my best to run three separate departments with no managers below me. Shortly after this the dreaded Ofsted came and we got a 'requires improvement' with a certain inspection the following year.

The department that I had no experience in was deemed to have been failing for quite some time. I threw every I had at it including several techniques I had used to improve results in my own team. Nothing worked. I was miserable. I started to look for other jobs and went for a couple of interviews. I ended up getting a management job at a new 14-19 school. I hadn't taught 14 year olds before (except during PGCE, now about ten years ago) but I thought the job would be an interesting challenge.

It was soon clear that I was out of my depth. Schools had changed a lot since I had last been in them and the level of monitoring was much more than I was used to. I had a bad experience with a Y10 group that I was teaching for a triple period and that night I completely broke down, sitting in the kitchen crying.