PDA

View Full Version : Finding it hard to return to the doctor

Bullets4all
19-12-13, 15:07
Hi to all,

I've been battling depression/anxiety for about five years. After years of psychotherapy/CBT, all the professionals agree they can't treat me without a chemical aid, so I was prescribed Citalopram 20g.

I felt like I did when my depression started, numb & disconnected. It made me very sleepy, so I'd take it at night. I'd wake up feeling tenser than usual with sore itchy eyes. I felt thirsty and had more headaches/nightmares than usual. I took the tablets for 28 days and most of these symptoms continued after I stopped. Have others had a similar experience? Now I'm wondering what to do with my chemical lifeline. Should my doctor increase the dose or change the medication?

TIA!

teej
19-12-13, 15:32
Is it worth an admin moving this into the citalopram forum?

How much were you taking?

Did you taper off? You could be having SSRI discontinuation syndrome.

Did the side effects dampen down at all?

Citalopram is sadly not a quick fix. I'm 7 weeks in and still quite a bit up and down but they are helping me a lot.

Bullets4all
19-12-13, 17:09
Is it worth an admin moving this into the citalopram forum?

How much were you taking?

Did you taper off? You could be having SSRI discontinuation syndrome.

Did the side effects dampen down at all?

Citalopram is sadly not a quick fix. I'm 7 weeks in and still quite a bit up and down but they are helping me a lot.

Thanks for the response.

I was on 20mg. The side effects faded but they lasted about 2 weeks after I stopped taking the tablets.

ElizabethJane
19-12-13, 19:10
Are you taking mirtazapine? If so I might be able to help you? EJ

Bullets4all
19-12-13, 19:21
Are you taking mirtazapine? If so I might be able to help you? EJ

Citalopram I'm afraid. Thanks for the kind offer :)

teej
20-12-13, 09:46