PDA

View Full Version : constant anxiety about my son *sigh*

cattia
27-12-13, 15:33
I have posted about this before, so forgive me for going back on about the same stuff. My anxiety about my kids has often focussed obsessively around them being diagnosed with autism. I don't know why this is such a massive fear for me, possibly because I am a teacher who has some experience of working with autism (I am in mainstream education so generally I see high functioning students) and I have seen how much this can affect children when they struggle so much with peer interaction.
I have worried about this pretty much since my oldest was born. My son who is my second child is now 2.5 and I know that he has some behaviours that are concerning. He is very hyper active, and when he gets tired he is super hard to manage. He hums to himself NON STOP, all day long. He is clumsy and behind with fine motor skills. He is very much a sensory seeker, still puts things in his mouth, likes loud noises, always climbing, jumping etc.
Communication wise, his speech is gold for his age, so is his understanding. You can have a decent conversation with him. He has good imagination and plays well. He seems to interact well with other children, has no problems at pre school.
Mostly, it is the humming, hyper behaviour, poor stamina, poor fine motor skills, and sensory stuff that really bothers me.
My husband is dyslexic and sometimes I think he has asperger traits, like he is quite obsessive about stuff and doesn't really get certain things. He is however, highly social.
Anyway, where I am going with all this is that i have been spending a lot of time researching my concerns (ok, googling) and it all leads to sensory processing disorder and or aspergers.