PDA

View Full Version : Is there a future for me?

star2sparkle
31-12-13, 07:59
I'm worried and don't know who to turn to for help. I am in love with a lovely, caring sensitive man. I think the world of him, he is everything I dreamed of yet there are these insistent doubts. I suffer from anxiety and have done for 30 years. I also have phobias and mild agoraphobia.

I have also suffered many abusive relationships, survived and become stronger. I never gave up hope of finding the right one for me. I don't for one minute believe in settling, just because your other half doesn't hit you, doesn't mean they are right for you and this is where my boyfriend comes in.

He has mild obsessive compulsive personality disorder. I have a degree in psychology, have researched this, and I know he has it. Done the test. One of the biggest traits of this disorder is the 'sufferer' (they don't actually suffer as it is different to OCD) think they are fine and should just be accepted and I am struggling to work out whether I should just accept him or not...I ask myself that if I truly love him, surely I would...yet I am still troubled by this. Little things accumulate together and really bother me.

Last night he even suggested that I'm trying to control him by asking that he compromises. I am not controlling at all. I know that people who suffer from OCPD say this sort of thing all the time but it makes me feel sad and lonely.