PDA

View Full Version : Mouth abscess two of my worst fears

almamatters
02-01-14, 06:49
Hi , I am pretty sure I have a mouth abscess, last night I had toothache and this morning my left side of face from nose down to chin is swollen not only do I look very strange but I am worried. I know I have to go to the dentist but I struggle to take antibiotics due to fear of side effects I am also scared of the dentist and now am worried the swelling is not going to go down. I felt quite calm about it when I got up but am now starting to feel panicky. Apparently the GP cannot help with things like this and it has got to be the dentist ? Thanks for reading.

BexieB
02-01-14, 06:52
What kind of side effects from antibiotics are you concerned about.?:)

almamatters
02-01-14, 07:01
Heart and breathing problems mainly, I did not take the last lot I was prescribed (tried my best though) x

---------- Post added at 07:01 ---------- Previous post was at 06:54 ----------

Also scared of allergic reactions, eyelid and lip swelling and rashes.

BexieB
02-01-14, 07:02
It does sound like you need to see the dentist, and antibiotics may be on the cards. But if you explain your previous SAs and anxiety they may be able to prescribe a more suitable antibiotic.. There's no shortage of choice with those drugs. It may also be the case that an anti inflammatory is all that's required. Have you any issues with those.?

almamatters
02-01-14, 07:09
Thanks for replying, I am scared of my most meds but would feel happier about an anti inflammatory. I was fine with antibiotics until I read one of the leaflets one day and have been scared ever since. I definitely need to see the dentist today, my face feels really swollen and my chin is throbbing. My dentist knows I have HA but is only sympathetic to a point . x

BexieB
02-01-14, 07:23