PDA

View Full Version : Anxious 29yo on 40mg propranolol

Carroty
04-01-14, 18:03
Hello guys. Long-time lurker, first-time poster. :)

I've been suffering with chronic anxiety for around 4 months now, although I've had symptoms off and on for over a year now.

It all started after I went to a music festival in August 2012. I was in the queue for the showers and fainted. The on-site paramedic blamed it on dehydration, but it totally freaked me out.

For couple of months after, I kept experiencing dizziness, particularly in stressful situations. I'm a journalist, so it usually kicked in when I had face-to-face or awkward interviews to do.

However, after a while, it seemed to stop happening...Until September 2013.

We were embroiled in buying our first house, having already had one deal fall through. It would mean moving out of home, nearly an hour away from my family, and further away from my job. The financial commitment also started to weigh heavily on my mind.

I was at work one day, sat at my desk and my legs just went to jelly and my heart started pounding, and I felt dizzy. I, somehow, made it to the toilets and had my first panic attack.

I had one the next day, the day after that, and the following day too. On the way home from work, I burst into tears on the tube (Londoners aren't supposed to express emotion on the tube, so I got a few strange looks) and couldn't stop.

A few days later, I visited my GP who prescribed 40mg propranolol on an "as and when needed" basis. This was adjusted just this week to a mandatory twice a day dosage because, 3 months after my first trip to the doctor, I wasn't feeling any better.

The panic attacks have stopped, thanks to some self-taught breathing techniques, but I'm still getting jelly legs, dizziness, light sensitivity, nausea and weepiness.

Hopefully taking propranolol on a daily basis will help some of this, because I've had enough of this now. Thanks for reading.

MrAndy
04-01-14, 18:21