PDA

View Full Version : My life is a train wreck right now

Kenna5027
07-01-14, 15:01
I am having constant panic attacks; I can't sleep; I feel like I am totally trapped with no way out.

I am a college student in the US, a senior. My degree requires me to go on for a master's if I want to find work. So I am currently in the process of applying to graduate school. The application is due by the 1st of February, and the application itself is fine BUT I need three references to write me letters.

I already have one professor who has written me one. I have asked one of my employers to do so and she agreed, but she lives three hours away from me (it was part-time employment last fall) and has since not responded to my emails. I also asked my college advisor who was also one of my professors, and she wont email me back even though I emailed her a couple of weeks ago. I resent the email yesterday. I asked a couple of other professors who didn't get back to me as well. I NEED these references, and I feel like I am running out of time. My work history is limited and I'm very, very shy so I don't "connect" with my professors like most students do - which causes a problem.

On top of this, I have just accepted a new job and am regretting it. Today is my first official day. For starters, I am under massive stress with graduate school, and I'm going to have to work my last two weeks of Christmas break. I also am not totally sure about the nature of the work and if I am truly capable of it, and I HATE my supervisor. Which is sad, because the rest of the people I have met are incredibly nice, but he just doesn't have his act together - so he forgets things I tell him (like my schedule), he won't give me a solid work hours (it's just kind of "whenever you leave"), and he scheduled me for every ounce of free time I have, including Saturdays, which just makes me feel really overwhelmed.