PDA

View Full Version : Hi, I'm new to this.

Scotlandkiwi
15-01-14, 23:13
Hi, I'm new to this. My name is Kirsty and I am a sufferer of anxiety, which is gradually getting worse. I feel like I am losing control and don't know what to do.

I suffer from health related anxiety and generalised anxiety disorders. It is an every day thing now, and I cannot live a normal life.
I suffer from panic attacks also.

Examples:

I suffer from migraines, and if one doesn't feel like I am used to, I am convinced I have a brain tumour, or I have a ruptured aneurysm.
I have chest pain, and I am convinced I am having a heart attack.
I have pain in my arm, I am convinced its a heart attack.
Dizzy spell, think I am dying.

It is taking over my life. Socially, personally and professionally.

I can't eat new foods cos I am scared that I will have a bad reaction, and possibly go into anaphylactic shock.
I am scared to take new medication, incase I have a reaction to that.

Basically, I believe everything is bad and that I am going to die. Every situation is life threatening. I just cannot cope with the stress and anxiety.

I am currently on an anti depressant (sertraline) which is meant to help, but with my problem being with medication too, I have only today plucked up the courage to pick this prescription up. Has been sitting in the chemist for 5 weeks now.
I have been on beta blockers before, but taken off them cos they had no effect on me.

I don't believe that medication will work, but my doctor will not refer me to a psychologist until they have tried all the medications they can with me.

I would appreciate any feedback and possible advice if anyone is suffering like me, or worse.

Many thanks.

KLP
15-01-14, 23:32