PDA

View Full Version : any nurses with anxiety?

Rachy-Rach
16-01-14, 02:19
I have struggled with anxiety since qualifying. I have now been qualified for five years and have been told I am an excellent nurse. I stopped citalopram at the beginning of last year to try for a baby. I am now 11 weeks pregnant and have just started a new job. I think my anxiety is coming back big time and I feel like I am making stupid mistakes. Nothing has happened and I have probably made no mistakes but I'm terrorfied of doing something wrong and harming a patient. Also been very sick with the pregnancy. Now can't sleep for worrying

jackie13
16-01-14, 07:56
Hi Hun

Firstly congratulations on your pregnancy that's great news for a New Year!

When I was pregnant I suffered awful morning sickness and anxiety but it soon passed. Your hormones are all over the place. I am going through Perrimenopause and have bad anxiety at certain times, I never realised how much fluctuating hormones can be the root cause of anxiety.

With the above, you starting a new job and being a nurse no wonder you are feel not quite right at the moment.

You are doing a great job, we need good nurses like you. Take it easy hun, try and relax and be kind to yourself.

It will get easier hun promise, as I said, I found the first few weeks of pregnancy to be awful, but you will be fine.

Luv & hugs
Jackie xx

Amandala
16-01-14, 15:12
Hi there. Congrats on the baby! My hubby and I were going to try and conceive this February,but do to my panic disorder flare up, that's on hold for the moment.
I did want to say that although I am not a nurse, I am a dietitian and also work in the health care field. I get very nervous about screwing up someone's TPN or tube feeding, or fluid restriction calculations myself. I have not hurt or killed anyone,even on my worst days. I am sure you are an excellent nurse so please don't doubt yourself! That will only feed the anxiety!

Rachy-Rach
17-01-14, 01:00