PDA

View Full Version : Intending to start Citalopram this week and would appreciate advice

London_Girl
20-01-14, 19:41
Hi everyone,

I'm pretty new to suffering with anxiety, it first crept up seemingly out of nowhere a couple of months ago and has been with me on and off ever sense then.

I was prescribed 20mg of Citalopram a few weeks ago when I was pretty much in panic mode 24/7 with little respite and had to go to A&E I was so overwhelmed. I have been feeling a little better recently but back when the anxiety started I felt better then it came back again at full force weeks later with twice the intensity. Although I've been feeling better for about a week now I have this weird feeling again like it's coming back and think it would be silly to ignore the signs again and hope it will go away again on its own.

The problem is, I don't know if I can deal with how much worse your anxiety gets when starting Citalopram. As I said, I feel okay, not great but not in despair either, at the moment. I also have a few job assessments/interviews coming up and don't want to feel nauseous or majorly on edge in those situations.

I was thinking maybe I should halve the tablets and start with 10mg then work my way up to 20mg gradually. Has anyone else done this or is this generally not recommended? Also, I know side effects vary a lot depending on the person but if you started on 20mg could you function enough to go to job interviews or at the very least go out in public and do simple things like going to the shops? From some of the descriptions I've read it sounds like I'll be lying in bed crying all day for months until the side effects wear off. I don't think I'm strong enough to get through it even though I know in the long term it will probably be beneficial.

Sorry for the lengthy post, just wanted to explain my situation. Thanks in advance. :)

MrAndy
20-01-14, 19:54