PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a new chat room

nomorepanic
27-01-14, 21:23
Hi all

Does anyone on here use a chat room on another website?

If so, is it a good one?

We are looking to get a non-java based chat room but we also need it to have an add-on for moderating chat (for quiz night).

It needs to run on mobile devices as well - phones & tablets.

The one we are currently looking at is called "123flashchat" but we need to look at others as well.

Please post here if you can help.

Thanks

Cú Chulainn
28-01-14, 00:19
Hi,
What about Realchat?
http://www.realchat.com/order-realchat-software.php
I've used the demo version for work projects but I think the real thing is quite pricey.
Presentation wise it is quite nice.
You can download the demo for free if you want to give it a try.
Hope this helps.

nomorepanic
28-01-14, 00:22
Thanks for the reply.

Realchat is what we use now and it is Java based so won't run on mobile devices.

ricardo
28-01-14, 05:50
I am not technical but many football sites have a chat room which is open to any logged in member during a live game being shown on TV or a stream.You just join in if you want to.Also on some you can leave comments in the chat room without being a member of the site,though I presume you don't want that.
I don't understand why one has to wait 5 days to be allowed to be a Chat Room user as anyone can join NMP and post straight away.
I don't envy you running this site Nic, as you will never please everyone,but it is amazing on a daily basis the amount of members on line against guests, which is often 20 fold.(guests)

I will enquire further re the Chat Room.

As an aside some are more computer literate than others (I am hopeless ) and I somehow managed to get rid of Java and though looking at the instructions how to reintroduce it and make NMP a safe sight unfortunately I don't have the know how to do it.:huh:

venusbluejeans
28-01-14, 10:03
Heya Ronny,