PDA

View Full Version : I'm really scared

girl92
02-02-14, 22:56
start a new job tomorrow. Its a care assistant job I've never done it before but I really wanted it just so I can help other. I'm terrified though! What if I can't do it. What if the staff dont like me. What if I do something to embarrass myself. This should be a happy time and I just feel awful and afraid. I was sick before because I'm so anxious. I hate new things I like routine anything that's new just makes my anxiety unbearable

nomorepanic
02-02-14, 23:00
You will be fine

Good luck

shakey1961
03-02-14, 04:42
I know this may sound harsh, but why did you go for that job if you're going to be so anxious?

However... most people will be anxious when they start a new job.

"What if I can't do it?" If the job has been advertised as "No experience required," then they're not going to leave you on your own. You'll be shown what to do.

"What if the staff don't like me?" You got through the interview, so you gave a good impression there, so someone likes you. What if you don't like some of the staff already there?

"What if I do something to embarrass myself?" I think the first few days and weeks you'll be so on your guard that you'll not do anything to embarrass yourself. Or are you going to stand in the staff room and wave your underwear around? Erm... NO!

I don't know what type of home you're going to be working in, whether a care or nursing home, but when you get there, look at the residents who need your help. You'll soon stop worrying about yourself.

You're not the first person to be anxious before they start a new job and you won't be the last.

Just get started and you'll relax. There's usually someone who will take a liking to you and will take you under their wing.

girl92
03-02-14, 19:16