PDA

View Full Version : On 10mg for 2 weeks, some improvement, should I stay at low dose?

JR35
03-02-14, 10:39
Hi There,
I'm just after some advice. This is my first time using citalopram and I started on 10mg 2 weeks ago. I have already noticed an improvement as I am sleeping a bit better and I'm not ready to cry at the drop of a hat. I've even had a half decent weekend where I have almost felt relaxed at points. I have read a few posts stating that 10mg is very low and won't help long term but is there anyone out there who hasn't increased and the 10mg has been enough? Its just the thought of more side effects when they have just started to wear off that puts me off. I'm seeing my doctor tomorrow and just wanted some input from other users before I see him?
This is my 4th episode of depression but in the past I took Fluoxetine as I was pregnant and it was deemed the only safe one for me to take but the side effects were horrendous for me and I was reluctant to use it again as I have two kids to look after and a job i desperately want to keep on top of. So any seasoned Citalopram users out there who can offer a bit of advice on increasing dosages etc will be very welcomed!
Thanks

SarahH
03-02-14, 13:30
I used Cit for 10 yrs until 3 years ago when I (stupidly) came off it. I could ONLY take 10mgs as anything mote I could not tolerate.
I you have improved as you say then there is no reason why you cant stay on this dose indefinitly!!! People respond differently to drugs. Just because it is a "low" dose it may be that it is the "right" dose for you.

I started back on Cit 19 days ago on 2.5mgs (yes a tiny dose) and I felt the benefits on day 4!!!!
My GP told me a few days ago that if 2.5mgs works for me then there is no reason why I cant just stay on it. I suffer terrible SE's from drugs. But being that sensitive means that it can work at lower doses.

Sarah

JR35
03-02-14, 14:33