PDA

View Full Version : Hello All - A bit about myself

JoeyboyRyan
09-02-14, 10:38
Hello,

I thought I would just leave an introductory message as I am new to this.

I am a 29 (30 very soon!) year old male, like to think I have a good sense of humour (I still follow Manchester United which requires one at the moment). I have worked in roles supporting people and have supported myself to study up to and including a degree while working full time a few years ago.

Now to the miserable stuff. I have suffered anxiety since I was around 16 although I did not understand it properly at the time. I have also had Acid Reflux as well since I was 19 although it wasn't picked up until I was about 26. Although not a major thing in the grand scheme of things I would have changed my diet and stuff sooner although I was told I had asthma not reflux based on the fact my mum is asthmatic (without proper investigation!).

My reason for getting involved with this forum has been some recent more severe symptoms that have been causing me much distress over the last few weeks. My stress and anxiety over the last two years culminating from losing two family members and a job I loved due to the economic downturn caused me to catastrophize in my new job and life in general. I thought however through the run up to Christmas this year that I was in a better place through CBT and working with my supportive boss to make my work life less stress free for me to get myself better.

I was ready for Christmas and felt ready for the break and just switching off from everything involved with responsibilities and my daily worries. Here comes the but....

On Christmas Day I started to have some panic symptoms around family I had known for years. These symptoms had started at work weeks before where by I could not breath or focus properly, my legs felt like jelly when walking and I felt a tight feeling in my stomach. I was also avoiding eating at work due to fear of choking.