PDA

View Full Version : Called in sick this morning...extreme worrying again!

GirlAfraid23
11-02-14, 08:58
So last night as I posted I was shivery and achy with a chesty cough. Throughout the night I woke up with a rattling in my chest...coughing up lots of phlegm and now I'm blowing hot and cold. Have made an appointment at the docs for 11.30am.

I text the cover supervisor as we are instructed to do (I work in a school) and she replied with "oh poor you, hope you feel better soon, you've been ill on and off recently...hope the doctor is helpful."
Of course this sent my anxiety into over drive...I could only focus on "you've been ill on and off recently" and I'm automatically thinking she is hinting something...I've worked out how many days I've had off since I started the job in September 2012...9 days including today...that I can remember or have evidence for, either on here or on my phone archive text messages.
Will this be an issue?
Do you think they may call me in when I'm back to discuss my absence? Maybe I shouldn't have a job because of my extreme anxiety. I hate myself :(

Annie0904
11-02-14, 09:18
I don't think there was any sarcasm there from her at all and she was conccerned about you. I really wouldn't worry about it. Just rest and get better. The school I worked in called you in for a sickness review if you had more than one sickness in a short period of time but nothing to worry about, it was not to 'have a go at you'.

GirlAfraid23
11-02-14, 10:46
Thanks for those words Annie, do you think 9 days is a lot in 1 year and 6 months?

---------- Post added at 10:46 ---------- Previous post was at 09:24 ----------

I'm feeling pretty rough now :(

nomorepanic
11-02-14, 10:59
No it isn't a lot and if you are ill you are ill - you can't help it.

WhyWhyWhy
11-02-14, 11:07
You're off sick, try to relax and spend your sick day doing what you're meant to do, relax, look after yourself and get better. Be kind to yourself :)

Hope you're feeling better soon. x