PDA

View Full Version : Post traumatic stress disorder?

Charlie38
18-02-14, 15:45
The majority of my problems - panic attacks, social phobia, shame, etc stem from PSTD and I wondered if there was anyone else here that has the same?

I tried to find a PTSD sub-forum but there isn't one. I just wonder if it may be helpful for people to have one as a lot of panic and anxiety can be brought on by PTSD.

Charlie x

SarahH
18-02-14, 16:25
Charlie,

Yes I have PTSD...diagnosed in 2001. I am a retired Police Officer and my job triggered PTSD.
My "story" can be found on the post "Pregabalin...at last"............basically...Yes my anxiety/depression is about my PTSD....................at's a pain in the a**e!

MrAndy
18-02-14, 17:04
I also have PTSD ,I'm slowly getting better

TooMuchToLiveFor
18-02-14, 17:26
Me too.

nicola1980
18-02-14, 17:34
Hi i was recently diagnosed with PTSD and am awaiting intense trauma therapy to help x x

Annie0904
18-02-14, 18:26
I have PTSD and Intense Psychotherapy has helped me a lot.

SarahH
18-02-14, 18:48
So thats a few of us then:D

MrAndy
19-02-14, 09:19
we should all wear badges and form a club :)

TooMuchToLiveFor
19-02-14, 13:33
I'll join. :)

Freaked
19-02-14, 17:27
I'm fairly certain I do (I'm actually a senior in psychology). I have a condition called POTS and i had a number of very scary episodes where I really thought I might die any second. That's sort of traumatised me and I get flashbacks to them often when I get symptomatic. Memories of those events have brought me to dark places at times, and I've come to realise they're the root of much of my panic. I'm hopefully seeing a psychologist to discuss everything tomorrow.

It really is a horrible feeling; I hope everyone here finds relief.

SarahH
19-02-14, 19:36
You could ask about EMDR.......I have had it twice and it has been the best treatment I have had in 13 yrs.

Sarah

Charlie38
20-02-14, 12:21