PDA

View Full Version : hello

MissAnxiety
23-02-14, 09:52
Hi everyone I am new to this but hoping this will help me get over my health anxiety. Im am in my 20s and before I had a operation I was fine, sine then all I do is worry about getting sick and dying. I cant switch off from it. Every week I have a new 'illness' a new type of cancer to worry about. At the moment I have multiple pains in different parts of my body which I know is ridiculous but I can't switch off from. At night I just think of my partner and little girl being without me or not being diagnosed with cancer till it is to late and being told I have just weeks to live. I dont want to go on medication so hoping this website will help me through it.

blue moon
23-02-14, 11:58
Hi:D welcome to nmp,hope you find friends and enjoy all it has to offer

Petra x

helena8888
25-02-14, 02:11
Hi Miss anxiety,
I can relate to you I also have health anxiety. It started 15 years ago after the birth of my daughter. Each new pain or symptom was a new disease (and I am still perfectly healthy) I got better for a few year and 6 months ago after a surgery it was hell for me again. The first time I tried to control it without medication but this time was too much for me and I started zoloft. You should talk to your doctor there are ways to feel better and CBT is one of them. One more thing, everytime I started to have bad anxiety was after searching my symptoms on internet so try not to do it, you always have the worst case scenario and we are not doctors to rule out those diseases. There is a health anxiety forum here but I have never dared going on it knowing I would get very stressed.
Take care :)

MissAnxiety
25-02-14, 23:43