PDA

View Full Version : Living in constant fear

Mjburdy
24-02-14, 06:28
Hi my name is Mitch and I have never been part of a forum like this but my hypochondria has gotten so bad that I do not know what else to do. It all started when I graduated from highschool. I had sex with a girl and i was terrified that i might have H.I.V or something like it. After experiencing "symptoms" and self checking myself everyday I went in and got tested for every STD out there. I had nothing... This got rid of the health anxiety for a month or so and this is where my latest rebound of health anxiety hit me again. One of my teachers from 7th grade died of a brain tumor a week ago and a few days after i started experiencing terrible headaches. I have had them for about 5 days now and it is starting to drive me insane. I took work off tomorrow in order to try to get better, but i do not see myself getting better. Every single thing that happens every slight pain I feel I go right to google and diagnose myself from there. My head is currently pounding as I type this. I am terrified and I do not know what to do.

anthrokid
24-02-14, 08:42
Hey Mitch,

Sounds like you've had a rough week, I'm sorry you're not feeling so well. I think the fact that you've made your way here and have recognised that you do suffer from anxiety is a great start.

I think your headaches may also be anxiety related considering they only started very recently after hearing of the passing of your old teacher. I don't think it is anything for you to panic yourself over - some anxiety sufferers here have constant headaches from their anxiety alone. I myself suffered from headaches continually for a few months at one stage when I was having very many panic attacks. It's really important to get lots of reast and try to relax. Remember, google is not your friend.