PDA

View Full Version : Citalopram side effects?

jillyb
27-02-14, 19:45
Had 2 weeks on 10mg ( though I was supposed to up to 20mg after 1 week) then 4 days on 15 mg then decided to bite the bullet and go for the 20mg. This is day 3 of 20mg and I don't feel too good. Teeth clenching, bit of nausea ( though that could be the acid stomach) but worse of all is this headache. Very stressed too and my eyesight seems off . Are these the dreaded side effects kicking in now I've upped the dose? I have some diazepam and wondering whether that would help. Felt I was making a bit of progress with my anxiety but this has really thrown me. I have severe HA so physical symptoms freak me out. This is my first time ever on ADs and I was terrified of taking them. Thanks.

Gemlou78
28-02-14, 08:44
Hi Jilly, sorry you aren't feeling too good! I haven't increased but was put straight on 20. Id say yeah its side effects due to increase. They should tail off.
My eyesight was weird the first week and a half mostly...I think because my pupils were so dilated. My pupils aren't as bad now though. The jaw/teeth clenching is awful I feel your pain with that one!
I find the diazepam definitely helps subdue the side effects. I remember you saying your doctor is happy for you to continue them for a while so maybe take one today if the side effects are making you anxious!
I'm finding everyday different at the moment. I was really kind of hyper yesterday which I haven't experienced before...changed the kitchen around..cleaned but totally wore myself out and was asleep by 8pm.
Not sure how I feel yet today..dont feel like going out feeling introvert I think.
Hopefully tomorrow will be a better day for you...and diazepam will make today more manageable for you xx

jillyb
28-02-14, 09:14