PDA

View Full Version : To any medical people

pete24
01-03-14, 13:40
Please help as I recently had a blood cholesterol test,which seemed ok,but receptionist at my surgery said I had high potassium levels,and would need to retake the test in 2 weeks.I am going to struggle to wait 2 weeks with my anxiety levels

Mondie
01-03-14, 13:52
I'm no medical person, but if you are worried and feeling anxious why don't you make an appointment to see your doctor and discuss the blood test result.

I understand that 2 weeks is a long time to wait if your feeling anxious, but I know that our bodies can throw up weird blood test results for NO reason and when we get retested we are fine. It's happened to me on a couple of occasions.

debs71
01-03-14, 14:05
Pete, though I was a nurse, I would not like to speculate. I think it creates fear and more anxiety to be honest if taken as truth, but what I would say is high potassium can be as simple as what you are eating or meds. Blood tests can also go off whack at times, and you may find that after a second test it is within normal ranges.

I know it is hard to wait with anxiety, as we dream up and self-diagnose ourselves with the worst case scenario. I agree with Mondie. If you are very worried, I would make an appointment to discuss it and your concerns.

All the best.:winks:

pete24
01-03-14, 14:13
Thanks for reply-I know I sound a bit pathetic compared to some people's problems,but I tend to worry about any medical discrepancies x

pete24
02-03-14, 09:56
It's as if ,if I worry about something it usually turns out ok,but if I am too happy I am heading for a fall.I also have pretty bad OFF ,which doesn't help.

EmmaJane
02-05-15, 11:13
Hi Pete. I had a blood test Thursday which all came back fine apart from my potassium levels were high at 6.1. Doctors have told me not to eat raw carrots and have another test Wednesday. I am really fretting. I cant get out of my anxiety at all.

Frankie123
02-05-15, 18:32