PDA

View Full Version : Can it be done without medication?

LiveAboveIt
12-03-14, 03:46
I'm to the point where I'm struggling from both depression/anxiety. My major issue is overthinking my condition.. The thoughts of how this might never go away, the fact that I can't enjoy anything and feel entirely disconnected towards life and people.. Eventually have a tendency of overwhelming me and causing mental breakdowns/panic attacks.

I'm getting better everyday, but.. Can I truly do this without medication? I've been on so many different SSRI's to battle anxiety, including Citalopram, Luvox, Wellbutron, Effexor, Zoloft, etc etc.

I seem to be incredibly sensitive to all of these medications and they tend to cause me even more anxiety and/or other side effects that just aren't worth taking. I've managed to beat my anxiety multiple times in the past, so that I didn't really have any issues with anxiety or panic.. But something always triggers it, and it ends up coming back with a vengeance.. Even if I'm on medication that helped in the past.

I think most of it is my own fault, because I stop going to therapy when I start feeling better.. And then when I fall into this pit of despair, all I desire is being back IN therapy and it just can't happen soon enough.

Anyway, I'm getting off all of the SSRI type medication because I don't enjoy the side effects that they give me and I want to be able to beat this anxiety on my own.

Can it be done?

Fishmanpa
12-03-14, 11:40
Hi LiveA,