PDA

View Full Version : I survived the first 3 weeks on Citalopram

ClearBlueSky
14-03-14, 04:47
Hi Guys,

I promised myself that when i was feeling up to it, that I would post something on here to pass on things that helped me with the 'start up' effects of citalopram 20mg. I actually don't know how I got through the past three weeks (mainly the first two). The rollercoaster of anxiety, depression, paranoia, euphoria and side effects at times seemed too much to bare. The first few days for me weren't too bad. I actually thought - oh this isn't pleasant, but I can take it. However, come about day 6, my nasuea and sweatiness and jitters started to take full effect and I seriously wanted to curl up in a ball. I am a primary school teacher and somehow managed to come to school everyday and put on a brave face anddrag myself through it (God knows how), but I just wanted to let you know that things DO get easier. I am still a long way from in the clear, but my anxiety has lessened dramatically and most of the side effects have gone (although some of them took the best partof 3 weeks to actually go). I am still waking up with morning anxiety and feelings of dread, but I am reminding myself that I have come this far and I am definitely alot better than I was a few weeks ago. One of the most important things I need to stress is that you need to seek other help. These forums helped me alot, but they could also bring me down because so many people on here post negative stuff. The meds are only a bandaid and you need to find ways of surviving happily without them. I am starting counselling next week and have ordered some self help books online. One website that I can't recommend highly enough is called Anxietycoach.com. What the guy says just makes so much sense to me, and gave me a strange feeling of empowerment over my own thogughts. It is important to remind yourself not to be 'scared' of your own thoughts. They are only thoughts, not actions and they can't hurt anyone (or