PDA

View Full Version : can anyone help?

paula78
17-03-14, 15:15
I have had really bad palps since yesterday and short of breath plus. A restricted feeling in my throat and neck :( all I have taken is a diazepam cos I'm too scared to take the sertraline, oh god I feel awful, I'm thinking positvley an trying to keep active but it isn't working, I've just been up to put some ironing away an lay on my bed an my heart was literally thumping out of my chest and back it almost takes my breath :(:weep:

Fishmanpa
17-03-14, 15:34
Sorry to hear you're not feeling well :( I'm sure others will chime in but I've seen may say that you just have to "ride it out". The feelings will pass and that's all they are...feelings, no different than love, hate, happiness etc. I'm not a doctor but what you're describing are pretty classic anxiety symptoms. Anxiety/panic is just your body reacting to a perceived situation. Breathing exercise and relaxation techniques can help.

So you have been prescribed Sertraline and haven't started it yet? As many will tell you and I can tell you as well, it takes a few weeks for your body to adjust to a SSRI. Some get side effects, some don't. Everyone is different. I had some stomach/bowel issues but it did help me through a tough time. Hope you feel better soon.

Positive thoughts

paula78
17-03-14, 16:12
Hi Fishmanpa,
Thankyou I know I should take the meds but really I am so scared to take them, I've just been told I have to wait 3-4 months for my CBT appointment too, I have been diagnosed with intense HA and have terrible thoughts and physical symptoms which I cnt stand much longer, the only thing I can manage to take is diazepam 2mg an I have only done this several times over the last 2 months, I need help soon I'm exhauseted x

Fishmanpa
17-03-14, 16:44