PDA

View Full Version : GAD plus My Wedding is resulting in a nightmare....

Virgo1986
19-03-14, 16:48
Hi,

Firstly sorry for the long post :unsure:

So im new to all this, I have read a couple of things on here when Iv'e been having a bad day with my GAD but never actually posted, I'm hoping that someone has already been through this and can help me.

So just some quick background info. I'm a 27 YO female andd I pinpoint my anxiety starting when my mum go the all clear from cancer...7 years ago! I have had counselling which seemed to work but about 4 years ago the symptoms started up again and they have gradually got worse.
I went back to the Dr and after explaining how I felt she 'diagnosed' me with GAD, now i'm not even 100% sure that's what I have, I basically don't have panic attacks anymore but my whole life is one huge panic attack, the only time they stop is when I'm asleep. I trained to be a nurse a few years ago so unfortunately i have too much medical knowledge and keep diagnosing myself with everything, it seems to change every so often but currently I have convinced myself I either have Heart disease or lung cancer, I suffer from IBS so another problem for me is needing the toilet urgently. I no longer have palpitations etc but i get what i can only explain as flutters in my heart (which obviously makes me think I'm having a heart attack).

I always shy away from social situations and if I do go out I need to know where the toilets are as soon as i get there, as when my anxiety gets too much to handle I go straight to the toilet and try to compose myself.