PDA

View Full Version : So coming to terms with being a hypercondriac...

Davy
20-03-14, 23:24
Hello! My names David.

This is my first time using a forum of any sort so should be interesting. I think I've joined because I've decided I should probably do something about my hypochondria.

I am twenty two years old and have been suffering from hypochondria and health anxiety ever since I was sixteen. I remember it all started after I picked up a magazine and read about a boy the same age as me who developed a brain tumor, I remember constantly thinking I had a brain tumor after this - so much so until I had multiple scans and checks to prove I was fine. Ever since this I have often been worried about becoming ill and constantly feel like death is around the corner - which is a horrible feeling. I have been literally hundreds of times to the doctors to check for various types of cancers and other diseases. More recently, as in two weeks ago I started having chest pains and so automatically assumed I was having a heart attack - in the period of two weeks I have been to A&E three times (including today) and have had all sorts of tests carried out - every time I have been told it is a viral infection and even though I can see that it absolutely is and I should trust the doctors...I still have that doubt in my mind.