PDA

View Full Version : struggling again

Rachy-Rach
27-03-14, 02:31
I've been off citalopram for more than a year now as I didn't want to be on it whilst pregnant. I'm now half way through my first pregnancy and I'm really struggling. I advised a stranger about a wound - I'm a nurse - whilst the advice i gave was correct I can't stop worrying that something bad will happen as a result.

I started a new job a couple of months ago and I'm finding it difficult. Panicing about what I've done and worrying I've done something wrong. I'm not supported with my anxiety as my manager cannot keep anything to herself and I don't want everyone I work with and people I don't knowing I'm struggling. I can't quit as I need the money for maternity leave. I only have 4 months left but I'm not sleeping and worry about everything. What can I do?

MyNameIsTerry
27-03-14, 06:21
You can always talk to your GP. They won't share your information will they? I don't know if their are protocols in the NHS for that, for the rest of us we would be covered by the Data Protection Act.

It seems that you don't trust yourself, which I think is common in anxiety and definately in OCD (which I have) because you end up double checking and triple checking and it goes on.

Have you triied Mindfulness meditation? It's recommended by CBT therapists and it's widely available without consulting anyone. It can help calm your mind and break the obsessive thoughts. It takes time to learn but isn't hard, it's just that it's takes time for you to understand it at a subconscious level.

There is a CBT course on here as well which might help. CBT is good at tackling precise issues rather than general ones as it aims to retrain how you think about that situation or thought process. Your's seems related to trusting yourself and your confidence so it could help with that.

Something to consider is the fact that you are a nurse and as such if you make a mistake, isn't it going to manifest itself or be seen by others?