PDA

View Full Version : Help! Health anxiety and I work in a hospital!

Danii
05-04-14, 06:31
I have health anxiety. I've had it on and off for the past ten years. It started as a fear of being allergic to certain foods. I stopped eating food people are commonly allergic to...peanuts, fish, that whole thing. I am not allergic to any foods, and I eat most of these foods now..

Next I was worried about my asthma. I had it when I was young, but I was 24 when I was worried about it. I lost my job because I called out so much to go to the emergency room, convinced I couldnt breathe. I had testing done and it was discovered I no longer have asthma.

Next - my heart. I would get palpitations, and it would get up to 110 beats a minute. I had an ekg, and constant reassurance, but I still get worried about my heart from time to time..

MY PROBLEM NOW: I'm constanly feeling disconnected. I get that weird feeling. The only way to describe it as like, when your sitting in a car, and the car next to you moves, and for a second you think its your car but its really the other car.. Does that make sense? When I get this feeling my arms and legs feel weak. I just feel like somethings wrong with my brain.

I just want to know if anyone else gets that weird moving feeling that I described. My doctor did neuro checks on me, and everythings fine. I'm scheduled to see a neurologist, but they wont give me an MRI, they say I'm too young and all my blood tests came back perfect (I'm 26).

Also..I work in a hospital. on a neuro recovery unit. So, all the time I'm getting patients that have seizures, brain tumors, spinal cord problems. How do I stop this anxiety? any advice? Thank you in advance.

Serenity1990
05-04-14, 08:05
The sensations you describe are very, very typical of anxiety. I have experienced them myself and I dare say the vast majority of people on here have as well.

The information below is copies from the 'Symptoms' tab on the left.

Weak legs

What you feel: