PDA

View Full Version : Don't know what to do!!

Gabrielben
08-04-14, 20:46
Hi guys,

I'm 19 years old, and just recently started university. About 4 months ago I started getting terribly anxious and depressed, this then turned into panic attacks on a hourly basis! About 3 weeks ago it got so bad that I was about to admit myself into a mental home. I've been doing CBT for 3 months and nothing helped, I could not shake my anxiety off. Anyway I went to see a GP, and I was out on cipralex 10mg, it has helped tremendously and I've been feeling so much better, except for side effects and slight paradoxical anxiety. My mom, being a psychiatrist herself, disagrees with me taking medicine and is wanting me to come off it, of course correctly. I don't know what to do? I'm going to see my a excellent psychiatrist tomorrow, recommended by mother, on hope to get further clarity. My mother disagrees with the use of medication in mental health, unless it is really needed, ie psychosis and major depressive and mood disorders. She approaches it in a more life coaching and self motivation way, which I suppose is correct.

Is there any advice as to what I should do? Continue on the meds and become "dependent" or discontinue their use and try long term talk therapy? Considering I had tried it and it didn't work so well.

Thanks guys, any replies are greatly appreciated

Gabriel

AlexandriaUK
08-04-14, 21:01
I think that you should do what you feel better with, if your psychiatrist not your mum thinks you should manage your illness without medication and you are happy to to that route then that's the way to to, It has to be the best way for you.
It isn't always Mother knows best LOL

Oosh
08-04-14, 21:29
Wow, tricky one, who'll disagree with a psychiatrist mum hehe.

Ok I'm gonna pretend your mums NOT a psychiatrist.

I went on Prozac for four years. I felt something was missing in me. I wasn't feeling like I felt I should.

It was a book that turned me onto them.