PDA

View Full Version : Health Anxiety Triggers

Darlopou
10-04-14, 20:29
Hi all,

Newbie here in the middle of a HA episode and wanted to share some thoughts I had one where they come from, and see if you guys had similar thoughts?

My health anxiety came to a head about 4 years ago when I sought counselling and that actually really helped me control it. It still do flare up though. In the past my episodes have been triggered by:

- learning about a new symptom / disease on a TV programme;
- generally feeling stressed or worn down (often work related), which then somehow led me to overly focusing on my health.

This time though, the trigger is totally different. My Dad has just been diagnosed with cancer. We are of course all praying for him to recover and the treatment will start shortly. In amongst the worry for him I then started to feel gassy and other symptoms related to my throat and stomach, and you all know where that led me....

I feel really guilty that at a time when I should be dedicating all of my thoughts to my Dad I am myself now focusing on my own health. Has anyone else ever been triggered by someone close to them becoming ill?

Cheers,

DP

emmelyne
10-04-14, 20:41
Hey DP, welcome to NMP. :)

I totally agree w/ you on the triggers etc, a close friend of mine suffers from epilepsy (but has not had a seizure in over two years now! woohoo!)

she was telling me about what its like to have a seizure, and the more she spoke the more i felt the symptoms. Thankfully I recognised that I was having a panic attack, not a seizure, and went straight to my college nurses office to calm down.

The more details you know about an illness, the more the stress convinces you psychologically that you have it. At the moment stress is getting to me so much that every evening I feel like I'm about to have a heart attack when I know full well that I am a healthy 19 year old!!!!!