PDA

View Full Version : Constant anxiety

Amsterdam
20-04-14, 22:19
Hi there,

Over the last weekend my anxiety returned. I have been reading a LOT of posts on this site over the past week. Most of the time they were pretty useful for calming me down, although I never managed to get rid of my anxiety completely. I hope some of you will take the time to read my story :blush:

I'm a 23 year old student who suffered from an occasional panic attack in the past. Most of them happened during my high school period and the frequency used to differ, but it was clear that I was more prone to have an attack during stressful times in my life. The attacks often happened at home at completely random moments, there didn't seem to be a special trigger. During most attacks, it would feel like my heart skipped a beat followed by a much stronger beat than usual. This would cause me to panic, raising my heart to 200 BPM and me jumping up and feeling really anxious. Afraid my heart was going to stop and afraid of dying. Almost all the time, I calmed down after a while and I could carry on with whatever I was doing. Leaving no more than a very slight anxious feeling behind.

I also have a history of social/general anxiety. Personally, I think this was caused after a long and intensive period of being bullied while I was younger. This left me with really big self-esteem problems and me feeling lonely all the time.

When I started university 3 years ago, I met a girl and my life quality really improved and I felt way less stressful than during high school. Then, earlier this year, I went through some difficult emotional stuff, breaking off contact with a girl I had been close with for a long time. I really missed her, I missed the fact of someone always being there for me and having someone to talk to about anything anytime. And, I was really afraid I would never meet a new girl that I would have such a good connection with.