PDA

View Full Version : New work position - expected to presentations & public speaking

ItHurtsWhenIPvP
01-05-14, 16:13
I have temporarily taken over a new role at work whilst the Officer I am covering is taking on another project.

Part of this post is dealing with volunteers who live in the local area who volunteer their time to work alongside us in cleaning up the local environment, interacting with them and being their main point of contact which I was fretting about when I was first appointed in to the role, I got on with my work, albeit very awkwardly, and I am quite proud of my progress, as we know something that seems to come so easily to many is a mammoth task for those with anxiety. I still panic when the phone rings and I have been working here for nearly 7 years, also going in to other offices within the building scare me and I always come in early to carry out any tasks I need to in those offices without anyone around, like leaving an invoice on someone’s desk rather than walking in when everyone else is in the room.

I attended an evening reception for the volunteers which was held as a thank you for all their hard work, a few people spoke, I was there just to familiarise myself with the volunteers, I nearly has my first panic attack in 8 years, I had to go to the bathroom and hide away to calm myself down, it was hell for me, I struggled to near those that spoke to me and burned red and just felt I looked like an idiot.

The newest part of my temporary role is a schools programme, primarily standing up in front of a class of children and interacting with them over environmental issues. This is going to be launched at a large event where over 60 schools will be present, with multiple staff members from each, so an audience of well over 100.