PDA

View Full Version : The media makes it worse..

Rainboww
08-05-14, 11:16
So in the last 2 days I have read 2 articles, one about a girl who has bowel cancer at 25 and her doctors told her she was too young to have it but was diagnosed 9 months later...
Another about a young girl who died from pancreatic cancer...

Articles like these make my HA so much worse!
I wish I could avoid health news but I'm a student nurse so its important for me to know whats going on in the health world. It makes me so frightened...
I don't know how to process it in my head so it doesn't make me think 'what if I haven't got IBS and its bowel cancer?'

:( I don't mean to upset anyone talking about the content of the articles... I don't want anyone else to feel how I do after reading them...

ScaredCaz
08-05-14, 11:22
Hi Rainbow

I know exactly what you mean I get up in the morning and put good morning Britain on and it's full of health stories and scary stories I know these are in the public interest and should be reported about and I am sure they help hundreds of people it make me feel guilty and selfish when I want to switch channel and not watch it

Know exactly how you feel :-(

eevee
08-05-14, 11:28
I don't even watch medical drama... too scary :(

Rainboww
08-05-14, 11:43
I have to put my nursing-head on and tell myself these instances are isolated and very very rare.
It still doesn't stop me from googling my symptoms and checking for lumps every five minutes though...

My boyfriend has gone away from the weekend and I also can't stop worrying about him and whether he is safe. Its ruining my life.

Annie0904
08-05-14, 11:54
These things do happen in life but as you said they are rare. From the minute we are born we are dying and not one of us knows when so we need to enjoy the life we have to its full. One of my neighbours is a bowel cancer survivor and she used to be anxious but now isn't..her motto is to get out and enjoy life and fit in as much as you can.