PDA

View Full Version : Teaching with panic attacks

gauss101
08-05-14, 22:35
Hi.
I've been teaching maths for 15 years and love my job. Last year, after working too many hours, and family problems, I had a severe bout of panic attacks. So, took a few weeks off to rest and readjust my teaching schedule. Now, six months later they're back. I taught all day, at the beginning of the week and panicked all day. I know it's just a feeling to be experienced and stood my ground and it would fade away. The problem was the next morning, knowing I would have to do the same thing over and over again. My students sit their exams in five weeks and all I could see, was a long corridor of the same pointless questions, about things they should know, and feeling like death everyday. I care deeply about my students and want them to do well but can't give my best while I'm like this. Luckily, a colleague can take over the revision and that lets me free to do something positive. But what?????
As I said, I love my job and when I feel ok enjoy every second but it feels as though I may have burnt out and taught my last lesson. This scares me, as it's the one thing I do well.
Any suggestions ???????
Many thanks for reading this.

aprilmoon
08-05-14, 23:08
Hi
This must be really hard for you,but I'm sure you haven't taught your last lesson.
You love your job too much for that,and that's a great incentive to finding your way through.
I know only too well how awful these things are,and how exhausting they can be.
Have you considered any meds or are you already on some?

graham58
09-05-14, 15:39
Hi,

It seems to me you need something to help calm your mind down and help you relax. Have you thought of something like Tai Chi or meditation?