PDA

View Full Version : Dissociation

squirreltrees
15-05-14, 19:53
I've never written on a forum like this before... I suppose I wanted to feel like someone was listening. Possibly even someone who actually understands what this feels like.

For the past two months I have been in a constant state of derealisation (dissociation). I feel like every moment of my life is a dream, and that I am merely observing it through a TV screen. I struggle to recognise myself in a mirror, and memories don't feel like they are mine. They belong to someone else. I am not living my life, but someone else is living it for me.

At first I was sure that I was going insane. The voices in my head were building and I felt totally out of control, with visual distortions and dizziness making it even worse. Then I was diagnosed as having an anxiety disorder. The worry in my brain had caused a defence to come into play, and in trying to protect itself it ended up putting me in a constant state of dissociation. Even having studied anxiety disorders as part of my uni degree, I had never known that this was a possible symptom.

I am coming to the end of an extremely stressful PGCE course... the fact that I have made it into school every day since this started still baffles me. The end is in sight and I'm hoping that once I have time, I will be able to put more focus on relaxation and trying to get better. At the moment though, imagining the feeling of being connected with the world again is impossible. I'm so scared that it will never go away, and I will never get to live my life again.

I hate what this anxiety is doing to me. I feel totally depressed and exhausted all the time. Why can't there be a quick fix?!

crystal17
15-05-14, 21:50
I feel for you, that is not easy to deal with. You sound intelligent and like you have good self awareness, hopefully one day you can take all this and use it to help others, and then it will all have been worth something. That is the only fix I know of.