PDA

View Full Version : Solving leg pains caused by Anxiety

mr benn
05-06-14, 23:26
Hi all. Newbie here ! Newbie to the site that is, unfortunately not a newbie to Anxiety though.
The last few months Ive developed leg aches and feeling very tense from my hips down my legs and calves, like I had ran a marathon the previous day. Sometimes when I walk it feels horrible.
I am working on the theory that its being driven by my Anxiety , as its been very high these last 6 months.

I have read that this can be caused by Anxiety, so Im wondering if any of you had this issue, and managed to overcome it. If so how - maybe through exercise somehow ?
I am seeing a physio next week , which was for my back, but Im hoping she may give me some help with this

Thanks in advance.

MarcW
06-06-14, 06:37
I experience similar. When my anxiety first started my legs actually felt wobbly and too weak to support my body when I walked lately however they've went the opposite and they do feel stiff as if I've ran a marathon my thighs especially

mr benn
06-06-14, 22:04
Hi Marc. Im focusing on trying to accept it is my anxiety creating this issue. Im walking every lunchtime and evening when I can. It may be just round the block , for 10 minutes, but its a start. Its part of telling my brain that I can walk. Okay it may feel uncomfortable, but Im trying to observe all the things around me , and not listen to music as a distraction (as my therapist says thats an escape behaviour).
My plan is to walk just a little further each day.
I did go mad one night and walked very briskly and too far, and my groin hurt like heck, so Im taking it a step at a time (so to speak !).

I dont know if streching regular, or even getting a massage will really help . But I may try one.

Im sure we can both beat this :yesyes:

MarcW
07-06-14, 07:17