PDA

View Full Version : Out Of Work/Not Doing Much = Health Anxiety? My Thoughts...

inthemind85
20-06-14, 17:15
Hello!

I am relatively new to HA and all it's wonderful symptoms, it's only been about 2 months for me so far, I know some people have suffered for years, and my heart genuinely goes out to you.

I had a little revelation earlier today, and whilst it may not apply to everybody, I thought it would be worth writing up as a reminder to myself.

I have been out of work for 4 months following my first Panic Attack, prior to this experience I had no Health Anxiety, GAD, Agoraphobia of any sort. Just pure social anxiety. It seems my body just said "enough is enough" and have had your typical nervous breakdown.

I have never considered myself to be in any sudden peril. I used to think "I should exercise a bit more". Recently it's been more like "OMG, I'm going to die from a heart attack soon, or have a stroke! Help!!". Because of no routine and the Panic Attacks i've had a lengthy period indoors, isolated, with bouts of agoraphobia because I still hadn't come to terms I was suffering with Panic Attacks. I thought it was something else.

As I am still employed but on long-term sick, I have had to send regular fit/sick notes to my employer. It just hit me today. It's called a "sick" note. I figure subconsciously, as a result of my repeated GP visits, paramedic calls and worries about health, it has re-enforced the idea that something must be wrong with my health. I am not un-employed, but off on long term sick. My mind subconsciously is thinking "well, i'm not working right now, so I guess I must be ill" and then all the symptoms will appear. It really makes sense to me!