PDA

View Full Version : melanoma. Scared

CaliSurfGirl89
21-06-14, 03:56
Hi everyone i am new to this but have read alot of melanoma threads. I am freaking out at the moment.
I have always had a mole under my boob (all my life) but when i started using sunbeds when i was 19 (i abused them) it got like a star shaped faint border around it roughly the same color just alot fainter. I went to the doctors and she checked it with a light thing they shine in ur ear and said it was fine. Fast forward 5-6 years and the border looks a teeny bit more stretched (maybe with boob increase as its on my boob) the mole itself is small like 4mm but longest point with the border is 7-8mm i think the dr said. In total 5 drs have said its fine but the 5th dr said she doesnt think its melanoma but she is sending me to a dermatologist (which can take 2 months) as it is different to the others and this is the 5th dr ive asked. I am so scared that i have been misdiagnosed all these years and now it is going to be in late stages and i wont survive. My husband doesnt understand how scared i am, im only 25 and so scared. I know people can have melanomas that go undiagnosed for like 10 years. Drs have said id be dead by now but i doubt that. Other than the border there is nothing else, looks 2 colours at most, has always been slightly raised and squishy, dont itch, doesnt hurt, doesnt bleed or weep, like i said it basically hasnt changed in 6 years except for stretch a bit with my boobs. I hope someone can talk to me and hopefully give me facts. I do apologise. My fear comes from my mom being misdiagnosed with breast cancer and dying 2-3 years later at 47 and i know skin cancer is deadly and ive been stupid with sunbeds and sunbathing, i do still sunbathe here and there but with factor 30
thank you xx

Rennie1989
21-06-14, 08:45