PDA

View Full Version : Hi There!

rmcelroy
11-07-14, 02:25
So my name is Raul. I am currently a college student at Carleton College in Minnesota, and I am new to this website! I look forward to meeting lots of people on here and sharing experiences! :)

A little more about myself: I have had ADHD since I was 4, and serious anxiety since I was about 12 (when I was young, I refused to get on the school bus because I was so anxious about school). Unfortunately, my anxiety has only gotten worse over time. Throughout middle school, I had several panic attacks, including one that lead my dad to take me to the hospital, only to find out that nothing was wrong with me.

In high school, anxiety manifested itself in every aspect of my life. I would not be able to sleep if I left homework incomplete. I would wake up in the middle of the night at the weirdest times, like 3:25, 4:57, etc, without a pattern, and usually after horrific dreams. I'd get feelings of dread when I was in school, and had several breakdowns in class (wow embarrassing).

However, this problem only got worse as time progressed. In my later high school years, I would major emotional break downs, to the point that I would curl up and cry for 45 minutes or so. This happened about every 3 months or so.

To quote Billy Mays: "But wait, there's more! After leaving for college, I started getting vision spells, where my long distance vision would go super blurry, but return to normal after about an hour or so. I saw both an optometrist and an ophthalmologist, and they both said that they couldn't find anything. I would also be completely exhausted when I woke up from naps and sleeping.

I also seem to have developed a huge health anxiety problem. You name it, I think I've had it. MS, AIDS, cancer, FFI, etc.