PDA

View Full Version : Panicked newbie here, have to take new meds.

jacobean
19-07-14, 01:06
Hi all,

I am totally new here and having a major freak out right now. I don't know if I have generalised health anxiety but I definitely have a huge huge huge phobia about meds. So if I am ill - like recently when I got diagnosed with arthritic neck and doc said 'you will be in pain but it's not gonna harm you, you can take pain killers or cope with the pain '. I am actually relieved! Relieved that I don't *have* to take meds.

So... last week I got a bladder infection. Nothing unusual for me. Except this one is trimethroprin resisitant. The usual antibiotic used to treat them. I have an allergy to the next chosen drug - Nitrofurontein. And the next ones are penicillin based and I can't take those as I had a very serious allergic reaction to them and have been told I can't even touch them to give them my dog! This reaction has left me with a fear of new drugs and particularly antibiotics. I am terrified to be honest. I had to take metronidazole for the first time three years ago and I don't think I had more than an hours sleep the three nights on them!