PDA

View Full Version : Little Pig (that's me)

Little Pig
19-07-14, 22:22
Hello. This is my first time connecting with others who have had the same or similar experiences - it feels very strange after all this time to find people who describe the same things.

I've been an anxious sort of person from a young age (though I begin to understand the reasons for that). I had a panic attack at the age of 8, and subsequently developed what I now know is an anxiety disorder, coupled with depression (learnt the last bit by reading here).

So I've had bouts of depression/anxiety over the years - that first one lasted from 8 until my mid teens, and nobody knew about it, not even my parents, because I never told anyone, and had another major bout a few years back during a horribly stressful period. Other than that, the symptoms have come and gone, and I've learnt enough to have seen them off - I've been learning about panic symptoms and CBT etc for a few years, and it's beginning to sink in not to fear them, so theoretically I think I should be doing better.

But just recently I've had difficult kicking a round of A&D, and I've just a few days back only realised I must be withdrawing from the citalopram I'd been on for a year (been on it before that and stopped no problem that I can remember).

I went cold turkey - my GP told me when I wanted to come off, it would be no problem just to quit! I actually did reduce the dose for a while to half a tab, but since I'd never noticed any effects when I'd skipped doses or stopped previously, one day I just stopped taking them. WELL. At first I felt fine, then in the first week or so, my emotions became very unstable, irritible etc, enough to start St Johns Wort. That seemed to help the moods, but then I developed this anxiety, which pretty quickly spiralled into depression, which I couldn't seem to get a handle on even with all the tools I have.