PDA

View Full Version : I am new to anything like this.

Woodward
31-07-14, 20:22
Hi people I really don't know how to open up about this, but I really do not know where else to turn. I have desperately tried to maintain a calm & almost clinical exterior but I find myself having extreme panic attacks regularly; especially when I am unwell. I panic that my symptoms may be those of something fatal, and I begin to work myself into such an emotional state that I break down into tears, sleepless nights, feverish sweats, and absolute fear. I'm a young man with a little son. I have recently approached my local GP about my issue and feel that he just passed over me. I recently came down with stomach cramps, sore throat and feeling generally phlegmy & a bit light or unsteady. The reality is its just a viral infection that will dissipate within a week but with all the recent bombardment of headlines regarding the Ebola crisis it has sent my panic attacks into a crazed overdrive. I know that logically I cannot have the disease and that it is extremely unlikely that it will become the global pandemic that many newspapers are screaming. I used to have an interest in Epidemiology and know quite a bit about the disease, but it doesn't stop me from panicking. I keep thinking about my little boy and it makes me sad that he may grow up seeing me fearful behaviour and follow suit. I want to be able to not be held captive by my anxiety and enjoy life. I keep imagining the worst. I have probably spewed on too much like a self-indulgent fool, but I really need help. Thank you.

Annie0904
31-07-14, 20:33
Hi :welcome:
I would go back to your GP and ask him if he can refer you for CBT.

---------- Post added at 20:33 ---------- Previous post was at 20:32 ----------

You might also find this helpful http://www.cci.health.wa.gov.au/resources/infopax.cfm?Info_ID=53

applecore
31-07-14, 20:52
I have probably spewed on too much like a self-indulgent fool, but I really need help. Thank you.