PDA

View Full Version : Job Interview - SO nervous!!

swgrl09
08-08-14, 21:26
As some of you might know, I left a bad job a few weeks ago and have been working at my old job, on the inpatient psych unit, for the past few weeks. I actually never left it but was just per diem so hung onto it just in case something like that happened.

Anyway I have been applying for jobs as a therapist and actually had an interview last week at a hospital. It went really well and they want me to come in for a second interview. The first was with the woman who would be my supervisor. It was your standard interview and I was happy with it.

Well, because this is through a behavioral health network at a hospital, the second interview is way more intense. I will be meeting with the Medical Director of the entire hospital, Director for Behavioral Health, and Director of Community Outreach and it is over 2 hours long. What!!!

I am SO NERVOUS! What will they ask me that will fill 2 hours? I'm just a therapist, not a medical doctor, so I am most nervous for the Med Director because I know a little more of what to expect from the Behavioral Health/Community Outreach People. I want this job, but this sounds really intense.

AnxietyDJ
09-08-14, 00:00
Well, in my experience two hours on paper looks way longer than it actually is... I usually come out thinking i've only been talking for 30 mins and it's been 1hr 30 instead :) I'm sure once you are there and in your stride the time will fly by. I'm guessing that because you already passed through the first phase, a chunk of this will be about making sure you're the right fit, rather than whether you have the required skills (which by now they know you do)... At least, that has been the way it worked for me quite a bit of the time. If this is the case, it should be 'easier' than the first interview, but may take more time if it's conversational, rather than straight Q&As.