PDA

View Full Version : Does it get better?

Anonybrit
15-08-14, 16:44
I'm a 26 year old doctor living in the UK.

I know I've always been more of an anxious person than a depressed one but never in my life have I had problems with anxiety like I have in the last 4 months.

I started working as a doctor 1 year ago and have pretty much hated and dreaded it ever since, mainly due to understaffing at work and the menial bureaucratic work they make junior doctors do. So I have been frustrated for a long time trying to devise alternative career routes that would make me happy.

This was a constant source of stress all year but it was completely under control. Then I had a car accident 4 months ago that left me with floaters.

Not only were (and still are) the floaters very upsetting but initially doctors couldn't figure out how I got them and thought it might be a chronic eye disease. This triggered a week of intense anxiety, worrying about my sight and making google diagnoses. Eventually they told me that it had just been the force of the crash, but this triggered a health anxiety that has gone on ever since.

I began to find myself unable to deal with how much I hated work and every stressful event in my life seemed to be so much harder to cope with. I felt a constant underlying feeling that I was about to contract some terrible illness and went from testicular cancer to MS to bowel cancer and so on.

This stress eventually (seemingly) triggered muscle twitches, mainly in my legs but can be anywhere, for weeks at a time when I am anxious and sometimes even cause cramps. When I have a good few weeks of no stress, they go.

Fast forward to last Wednesday and I was due to start a new job in a new hospital with much longer hours. I found myself randomly crying when on my own as the day drew closer and on the morning of my induction I had a complete breakdown and couldn't go in at all, I cried for a few hours then I started to develop brain fog.