PDA

View Full Version : Finally plucked up the courage to book an HIV test.

Katie_cupcakes
27-08-14, 11:43
I have been worrying for the past 3 months that I have HIV, and been far too afraid to face up to it. I think I have finally realised that all this Google searching and worrying and trying to convince myself that my symptoms are something else is pointless as it won't change the result of my test.
Got a test booked for Friday morning, so now I have to face up to it. Whatever the result, I will finally be able to stop this obsessive search for reassurance because it's pointless.
Wish me luck :( I think I have convinced myself to the point that a positive result wouldn't shock me, and I have kind of mentally prepared myself for it.

puzzledlass
27-08-14, 12:37
Well done! It takes a lot of effort and courage to face these fears and you should be proud of yourself.

I don't know your story, but I know HIV is not as easy to contract the media would have you believe!

I am confident you will be fine.

Dedre88
27-08-14, 21:55
Katie,

I've been in your shoes. As puzzledlass says it's not easy to catch, I'm sure results will come back fine. Whilst, I was terrified of HIV, I've come to realise there's much worse illnesses out there. And whist it's not curable it's very treatable.

You won't regret having test done, it's scary but after (even before you get results) you will feel a massive release! Positive thinking!

twtm2002
28-08-14, 11:37