PDA

View Full Version : First Post, Please help

newyork
01-09-14, 22:34
Hi all im new here and i suffer from health anxiety.

I have always been anxious about my health. Every bump on my head I thought was internal bleeding, every single day I would be scared of dying from random things. It didnt interfere with my life and I was a great student who worked, had a girlfriend, and had a normal life. Until Feb 2014 on my 21st birthday I was diagnosed with cancer. I had hogkins lymphoma and went through chemo and radiation treatment. I finished in august. Now because I got this disease I feel like I can get any disease. I had headaches and forced my doctor to get me an mri to make sure its not a brain tumor. Everyday I learn about a new disease thats worse than the last and I fixate on it. I cant tell the difference between whats causing my symptoms. Is it actual pain and an actual disease or is it my anxiety causing it. Right now I had muscle weakness and leg twitches (not a sideeffect from cancer treatment) and I think its als and i will not rest easy, focus on anything else, school related or social realted until i know its not als. Als is uncommon i know but after I become one of the 9000 out of 320 million ppl in this country to get hogkins i dont care about stats at all. I was already a victim and that makes me terribly scared. I was clinically diagnosed with severe anxiety and mild depression and I am taking klonapin twice a day and effexor for an antidepressant. However I cannot tell the difference between real pain and what my anxiety is causing me. I am sickly afraid of death and ALS is currently on my mind. Can anyone offer any advice?

Thank you

Rosiebee87
01-09-14, 22:38
I think with your diagnosis being very recent you are bound to have these fears.

Discuss your worries with your doctor. Maybe try cbt and/or medication.

Time to start enjoying your life, don't let health anxiety get the better of you. You just need the tools to learn to control it :)