PDA

View Full Version : Not sure what to do now - newbie

expedience
28-12-06, 22:53
Hiya, i am a newbie *waves*

I would appreciate some advice please. I have developed SA due to having rosacea for the last decade that meant every evening for around 8 months, i went bright red and stayed bright red which resulted in me becoming rather reclusive and pushing all my friends away.

It started at around 18 when i noticed that everytime i went out to a pub in the evening my face would burn up and stay red the entire night. Causing people to ask if i was ill and slowly i went from being very outgoing to thoroughly embarrassed and so avoided going out at all. This then escalated to the situation stated above and after seeing lots of doctors they basically said i had to live with it.

Fast forward 13 years and i am glad to say that an amazing laser doctor offered to treat me with the Gemini laser last year and after around 8 treatments i am now pain free, which is just fantastic. I do still flush up after work a little as i work outside and i notice i will still flush when im tired sometimes but otherwise i am now pretty much normal....however my brain has yet to readjust and i find i constantly turn down social engagement *incase* i go red.

My laser doc did write to my GP regarding CBT but i have heard nothing since and have been too embarrassed to follow it up. I find it really difficult to talk about as its had such a pervasively negative effect on my life meaning that anyone who tried to belittle my experience, saying i need to just pull myself together or similar, really has a bad effect on me. So i'm thinking of either paying for CBT privately or writing to my GP allowing me to get all the background crap out the way in the letter and asking for a referral.