PDA

View Full Version : New to ocd

Avasmummy_x
23-10-14, 12:53
Hi there I am new to ocd. I was diagnosed just two days ago after suffering with gad since I was 13 I am now 21.

It's all started for the past week I am getting uncontrollable racing thoughts and intrusive thoughts of harm. Mainly to myself.

When I'm in the car I get a scary thought of just suddenly jumping out which frightens me. And when Im high up. Say top of the stairs or second tier in a shopping centre. I have the thought and urge to jump. Absolutely frightening mainly because my anxiety has always been based on worrying over my health scared of dying and scared of going crazy. So racing thoughts and thinking disturbing thoughts is making me feel I am crazy and thoughts of harm just frighten me!

My other fear is what if I do actually do something? What if my mind just takes over and I can't stop myself? My doctor says it won't though.

I've been reffered to cbt but an intense one with a physciatrist as I've done cbt before so she says I need something a bit stronger. She also prescribed me fluoxtine 20mg which I'm picking up today which I'm also scared of as I'm very anti meds as all I've tried have either made me sick or my anxiety shockingly worse.

Would like a bit of advice on how to cope and maybe even a success story so I know it will get better. Also if anyone is on fluoxtine please please tell me it helps I'm so scared to take it x

MyNameIsTerry
24-10-14, 07:45
I was the same. I had urges to jump off bridges even though they weren't very high, run in front of traffic when walking up a busy A road, etc. Its not a conscious thought because it feels like its in the background, thats how you can recognise these are intrusive.