PDA

View Full Version : So much stress when it comes to choosing a major

.Poppy.
23-10-14, 18:48
I graduated in the spring with a bachelor's degree in speech pathology; a field that requires a master's to practice. I didn't get into grad school, and am not sure I want to do it anyway. So, I have taken the semester off this fall. I've been trying to find work but it's not easy so I know I need to go back to school.

I was a business major for awhile and have decided my "fallback" will be to major in accounting. I can get it done in two years and there's a 100% employment rate for students. But, I've also considered dietetics. It may be more difficult as it's more science based, but job prospects are good I think and the way the degree is set up at my college you can get a lot of experience before you graduate. I have an appointment to meet with an advisor in the program to see what it takes.

The thing is, I have moments where I fell really good about it, and others where I fell like I just can't do it. The program is competitive. My speech program was competitive as well, and I failed at getting in. My heart wasn't in it, but now I'm terrified to do anything like that because I'm scared I'll take the prerequisite classes and be rejected yet again. I tell myself that I am smart, I have been told that my entire life, but I just can't believe it anymore because if I was smart I would have gotten into grad school, right?

To top it all off, I was accepted for readmission, but then was pressured by my parents to re-apply for grad school so now I have to sort out telling the grad school I don't want to apply for graduate school so I can be for-sure accepted as an undergraduate again and get an advisor and a class schedule - hopefully before classes fill up.