PDA

View Full Version : Relax? Yeah, right..............

gauss101
09-11-14, 23:23
I'm a teacher of maths and for the last year have had bouts of panic attacks. I've had them, on an off, all my life. At the age of 60 I thought I'd got it beat but no. For some reason, maybe upheavals in my personal life and working too hard, they have come back. I've always used medication to help and tried hard to face the fear and overcome the barriers. When I was younger I took up martial arts and this helped enormously but although 60 isn't exactly one foot in the grave, I feel I'm too old for that now. So, I've looked at other ways of overcoming the attacks and I read a lot of, "let it flow over you", or "just relax and know that it will pass". Have these people ever had a panic attack? I'm not knocking them but when you're in the middle of explaining a complex mathematical theorem, it's not that easy to take deep breaths, or sit comfortably because there are 20 pairs of eyes on you and you have to plow on, even though you feel you are going to pass out with fear. I've just started CBT and I'm hoping this will help but am keen to know how others deal with panic, even though they have to continue what they are doing. Sorry if this seems a cynical post but I'm sure you'll understand that after 40 years of this, I'm really starting to get p*ssed of with it. Many thanks.;o)))))

Catherine S
09-11-14, 23:58