PDA

View Full Version : mother with OCD?

Abby
28-08-04, 12:44
Hello
This is my first time on a forum. I have been trying to find some info on OCD- which i think my mum has got. She checks and re-checks doors and windows and electric switches about btwn 10-20 times at least 3 times a day. She fears for my safety in a huge huge way- if I go out- she will ring me at least 3-5 times to see where I am and when I am coming home- If I am coming home in the evening she will ring me every 10 mins till I get home to check where I am and each time the messages will get more abusive. I should say I am in my mid twenties and am back at home after 5 years of living on my home. Financial reasons have forced me home. But the most upsetting is the hoarding. The house is jam packed full of things, new bits of furniture, old bits of furniture, things to decorate the house with, rubbish that is not thrown out, and in her room there are clothes everywhere, papers piled high on the floor, bits of food like crisps and nuts on her bedside table, her bed is covered in papers, the carpet is full of crumbs, she never draws the curtain, or opens the windows for fresh air. I could go on......basically I do what I can- but now its become a never ending battle- as much as I clean and clean and tidy- she will mess it up again- or there will be some excuse like the builders are in or she is ill- another thing that has gone on for years, sometimes she thinks she has cancer, another time heart problems, another time stomach ulcers- and I try but its getting me down. How do I live my life and yet be a good daughter? How do I help her when she doesnt want any help and in fact picks fault with me on a daily basis? And even when I moved out she would still ring me 2-3 times aday every day and tell me she could not cope without me at home.